Dual Purpose Meals

Wouldn’t be nice to cook once (kinda) and eat twice? I am not talking leftovers…just meat!

This week I am working, have 3 kids in school and my husband also works. We are quite a team so when I work too, we really have to work together to get everything done. On Monday I accidentally cooked way too much ground beef. It filled my skillet! This is what I did with it…

First, we ate tacos. We love tacos and beans and rice. Our favorite! I used half of the ground beef, seasoned with taco seasoning and we had a feast. While the taco meat was cooking I pulled out a pot and threw in some canned tomatoes, tomato paste, red wine, olive oil, fresh basil and Italian seasoning to make spaghetti. I added the other half of the ground beef (which had peppers and onions and garlic in it).

The next night I came home to a pot of sauce already made. All I had to do was boil noodles!

Are you ready for this…THIRD, I had leftover taco meat and didn’t want tacos again since we are out of my favorite tortillas so I made sheppard’s pie! I wanted to make a gravy for the meat but just couldn’t find anything I liked. The Middle Man and I were grocery shopping and we came across a can of black bean and jalapeno soup. BINGO! Sheppard’s pie with a Mexican flair soup as the gravy and mashed potatoes on top. It is in the oven now…I cannot wait!

Now here’s the best part…my sweet husband who goes along with all of my hair brained ideas and supports me unconditionally said, “Let’s make two since the pan is small and freeze the other one”. My how I love him!! Maybe this whole cooking ahead thing isn’t so hair brained after all!

Leave a Reply

